loading spinner

All Reviews


Mar 26, 2019
5
(5/5
Boyue Likebook Mimas (White) + Cover
About the shop: quick service, received the product within three days.
About the product: from the day I-ve been using computers (that was 25 years ago) I kept hearing about the end of the paper. Clearly, the tech wasn't still there. When e-ink appeared I knew it was now possible so I've been waiting for this for about ten years... e-ink tablets with note-taking began to ship about 5 years ago but the writing was still playing catch with your pen, the usability was not so good. Then there was this thing from Sony, the Remarkable, the Boox Note. But you could buy a LOT of paper, pencils, and erasers with the money they cost. You still can, but the 469€ price tag, with the sd-card slot and backlight, finally decided me to try it.
So what? The hardware looks good, it has good build quality. The tablet tends to pop out of the provided protective case if you hold it by one of the bottom corners, I'm concerned that someday I don't notice it and it falls down. Note-taking has a really good feel and can easily replace paper on a daily basis, with added benefits like unlimited undo, redo and special editing you can't do on paper. However, the software feels somewhat beta and rushed out: some basic features are missing, like copy-pasting part of a note, reordering pages. I couldn't find a way (yet) to add templates to the note-taking app. PDF annotation should feel just like the notes app. While the device is black and white, documents can be transferred to other devices so there is no reason to be unable to draw in color, but the only colors available are black and white. The translation is, at least, incomplete. There are blatant errors in English and French is terrible (I wanted French, but it made my eyes bleed so I got back to English). In short, the software could be made way better, but since there seem to be regular updates I hope for improvement and I do not remove stars. The only thing I am somewhat disappointed is battery life. I expected it to last about a week without wifi but using the note taking function seems to use quite some power. Turning on wifi literally drains the battery.
Administrator:
Thanks a lot for your positive review and feedback!
Concerning software - the product is very new on the market and the software will be definitely extended and improved. Some of the mentioned missing features are already available in last update ( like custom templates for Note app). All the requested features are already available in the more expensive Onyx products.
Concerning translation to other languages than English - it is indeed far away from perfection yet. We are working on it though and hope to provide a better translation (at least for some European languages) soon.
 

Mar 25, 2019
5
(5/5
Onyx Boox Note Pro
Thank you, Waldemar. You posted it quickly as soon as you received it. Note Pro looks solid in finish and construction. I am using it from last 4 days. The PDF reader is excellent to highlight, find meaning of any word and with lot of options. Installing Google play is bit 2 step process. You need to enable google play-store and then register your device for using google play-store to install from a large choice of android applications. Kobo & Kindle reader installed perfectly and the performance is similar to any other android tablet (except monochrome, but excellent e-ink display). The user interface of the note-pro is pretty basic, even though Boox can learn a bit to emulate Kobo Forma device with extra wonderful features to tweak font type, weight etc. Screen is excellent while taking notes, still there is room to add features such as handwriting recognition, automatically moving handwriting to top of the screen to make more room etc. Hopefully, Boox will bring more elegant great looking user interface is coming months with their software updates. I find the Note Pro hardware quality so far so good and satiffactory.
Administrator:
Thanks a lot for your very positive review!
Concerning your wishes - in this week released Update you will find the new Neo 3 Reader with all the features you mentioned in Kobo Forma (and much more). Also, the new Note app will be equipped with handwriting recognition feature (among other features).
 

Jan 21, 2019
5
(5/5
ONYX BOOX MAX2PRO (64GB)
I've had this device for two weeks now and I'm really happy with it. I use it for:
1. Reading: the screen contrast is superb, the functions of the reader app very helpful, also with pdfs.
2. Music: I use Mobilsheets pro to display all my sheet music while in rehearsals and concerts. Singing in multiple choirs, this reduces the amount of sheet music I need to bring with me to zero. The device is a bit heavy at first, but you get used to it. For anyone only using it for singing, I would recommend getting the note oder note pro, as it is much lighter. I'm also getting my conductors and organists degree this summer, so I use the device to display my sheet music while conducting my choir and playing at the organ. So far I've had no problems with this either.
3. Taking notes: In university, I take notes all the time and organize them in the note app. This also brings down the count of physical paper I need to carry to and fro' the university.

All in all, I'm very happy and would recommend it to anyone who looks to read much and take notes often or musicians looking to eliminate their stock of sheet music :)
 

Jan 1, 2019
4
(4/5
Onyx Boox Note
The product is pretty cool. It does have some flaws, but it seems to be the better choice compared to the other 2 competitors.
 

Nov 6, 2018
5
(5/5
Onyx Boox Note PLUS
my first time experience buying from this store is very good, shipped very fast and items received as per description. competitive price as well.
ereader itself is very suitable for me, font is big enough without being too big, excellent resolution and note taking capability is exceeding my expectation.
 

Jul 11, 2018
5
(5/5
Onyx Boox Note
It seems that there is no way, Onyx put the language "Portugues Brasil", but it did not work. The Brazilian language is all messed up, mixed with English and without a dictionary, my only alternative is still the Spanish and the Amazon Kindle App ... I'm glad that it's a great android device that although I'm not satisfied with my language it's worth compensating a lot, due to the various features that iTunesOnline offers, making the language issue less important, after all you can install several applications like Kindle, Kobo, Moon-reader and many others. In fact I wanted to be able to try the Onyx Note app, but because it does not have the Portuguese dictionary Brazil does not. That's it, everyone, there's no way ... BUT HERE IS HERE A NEW REQUEST TO THE ONYX TEAM IF POSSIVELY OF A REVIZADA IN THE BRAZILIAN LANGUAGE INSTALLED IN ONYX NOTE I do not want to be annoying, but if it's not possible, there's no problem, Onyx Note remains the best reading device I have ever had, the language is just a detail that would make it excellent. Thank you.
Administrator:
We will improve translation to Portuguese soon. Thanks a lot for your great review. It is hard to find a good translator to your language. We will ask for support in our international community. Don't worry, we will improve translation to Portuguese soon.
 

Jul 4, 2018
4
(4/5
Onyx Boox Note
Overall I'm quite happy with this device.
I received it in good time in a strong box. It has really made a difference for me in terms of being able to use documents without a bulky laptop or bright screen as I've severe eye sensitivity.
I like its versatility and features. Some apps are not so good since it is e-ink but many apps work well. Its size is convenient for carrying and comfortable design of device and pen and a nice sleep case too. Documents are manageable but sometimes I wonder if I should have got the Max2 instead to have an even better experience with A4 documents.
However there are some glitches I find. Some minor and one major. For now, I'd give 3.5 stars.
- Close to the edges of the note, taking, the drawing gets thin and distorts (ie not landing exactly where you drew). This is a greater nuisance when taking side notes because the space to draw is already quite small so this further restricts it.
- When starting text-to-speech, sometimes it doesn't start but automatically pauses then skips a line or 2. This is frequent.
- Sometimes note-taking vanishes. Usually I notice pretty quickly and haven't lost much work and can get it working by exiting and re-loading but sometimes it takes a few tries. That could be a major problem if you're doing more important work and don't know to frequently check this. Today however, despite having saved my work many times yesterday, I found that almost all of yesterday's work on a document is gone. A page of scribbling (underlining text of the pdf) is gone and so are 3 pages of side-notes. This is very problematic.
Are there any updates to fix these bugs? If so, could I get a link to it please? To fix these would make me happier with this product.
Administrator:
Thanks a lot for your detailed review !
Your reported occasional issues have been fixed in latest 1.9.0 update
 

Jun 26, 2018
5
(5/5
Protective Cover Boox Note Series
Produto de ótima qualidade, leve e resistente, é tão agradável o uso dele que eu não sinto incomodo nenhum em usa-lo. nota 10
 

Jun 15, 2018
5
(5/5
Onyx Boox Note
Excelente reader - Só falta ter nele o meu idioma (Português - Brasil) mas mesmo assim ele tem tantos recursos que eu estou me virando com o idioma Espanhol. Estou esperando a atualização que a Onyx marcou para este mes de Junho... ai estará perfeito... vem mesmo este mes?
Administrator:
Thanks for your positive review! The update (1.9.0) will be released next week
 

Jun 13, 2018
4
(4/5
Protective Cover Boox Note Series
It looks and feels nice, but the quality seems to be average. The edges that hold the device in are uneven and one of the corners is not formed correctly - the height is too shallow and it took a lot of effort to get it to grip the device well.
When the flap is folded behind it can also activate the sleep sensor sometimes.
 
Page: 123456789